another side swap

I just can’t keep it in any longer: I have to show the latest pillow I’ve made. I had another willing side swapper through flickr. and here’s what I made for her.

Rainbow Wheel Pillow

i’m really happy with how this one turned out. I’ve been wanting to do a rainbow project for a while, but I didn’t think I had enough fabrics in my stash to get a full rainbow with multiple prints per color. I was pleasantly surprised! I got to integrate some of my favorite modern fabrics as well as some older treasures. I like that the rainbow brings it all together.

I saw a colorwheel embroidery pin on pinterest, which I found after I had pieced the pillow top. I thought it was the perfect idea to fill the center square, so I pretty much duplicated it, with a few of my own ideas thrown in.

Color Wheel Embroidery

 

when my family and friends hear that I don’t think i’m particularly creative, they scoff at my remarks and insist that I am. for the most part over the past few years, I’ve been learning how to sew by copying/duplicating someone else’s work. and I think that’s only natural and okay when one starts out. a lot of people may not even be able to copy another’s work, so i’m glad for the skills I’ve learned. what makes this pillow especially special though, is that it came about (the piecing at least) through my own creativity. i feel that i’m finally stretching my brain and creative energies. so i’m determined to continue exercising my creativity by coming up with my own ideas and designs. i might still imitate from time to time, but i feel it’s time to create my own sewing style.

well, i hope my swap partner likes this pillow, and will treasure it for the gem i feel it is. 😀

One thought on “another side swap

Leave a Reply

